General discussion forum?

Home Forums Housekeeping General discussion forum?

This topic contains 11 replies, has 8 voices, and was last updated by  Boris 6 years, 2 months ago.

Viewing 12 posts - 1 through 12 (of 12 total)
  • Author

Girlspeedo
    Participant

I wonder if we could have an additional forum for more general bike discussions? I’m going to be using Boris Bikes (when they sort out my key, eventually), but I’m also a novice cyclist and I have many bike questions that are not strictly BB related. I’m feeling a bit sheepish asking here since they might be deemed as off-topic. So maybe a more general forum is a solution? Or if not, could anyone recommend a good bike forum for newbies like me?

OverzealousCyclist
    Participant

Girlspeedo. Welcome to cycling. Try bikeradar.com and you’ll find enough there – from basic stuff to super geeky stuff… good luck.

Helz
    Participant

I also recommend bikeradar – they’ve even got an “information for beginners” sticky which you might find helpful.

redfalo
    Participant

Another option is Cycle Chat http://www.cyclechat.net/ They have sub-forums for beginners as well as for commuters.

Anothereye
    Participant

there is also the Cyclist Touring Club forum; you do not have to be a CTC member to join the forum.

A comment that I was going to post anyway; now that the BorisBikes forum has got off to a good start: Is it time to re-organise it?

For example, a section on issues about cycling in London (not necessarily on BBs but essential for BBers, especially newcomers).

This could include issues like safety tips and adjusting saddles and best/worst cycle lanes.

Then issues about docking, accounts, finding bikes etc could perhaps have sub sections.

I think that this would be a clearer way to organise than the existing love, hate etc.

jwo
    Participant